2023 Furphy Literary Awards entries open until 30 April

Theme: Australian life in all its diversity
Maximum Length: 5,000 words
Entry Deadline: April 30, 2023 

The Furphy Literary Award encourages Australian writers everywhere to ‘have a go’ and prepare their entry for this year’s competition.  

Adam Furphy talks to Barbie about the Furphy Literary Awards
  • First Prize: $15,000, a La Trobe University Residency and publication in the 2023 Furphy Anthology 
  • Second Prize: $3,000 plus publication in the 2023 Furphy Anthology 
  • Third Prize: $2,000 plus publication in the 2023 Furphy Anthology 
  • An additional 13 shortlisted stories are published in the annual Anthology. 

Following the judging a shortlist will be announced on June 30 and the winners award ceremony to be held in late July 2023.  

The awards are in their fourth year and boast a highly credentialled final judging panel – Miles Franklin Literary Award winner Tara June Winch, novelist and columnist Anson Cameron, writer and publisher John Harms, playwright and author Margaret Hickey, writer and publisher John Kerr, and journalist and author Thornton McCamish.

The Furphy Literary Award is named in honour of Australian writer Joseph Furphy, who wrote the classic Such is Life in 1903 under the pen name Tom Collins. In WW1 Australian soldiers congregated at the back of Furphy water carts, manufactured by Joseph’s brother John, to trade speculative and wild rumours and stories, which became known as ‘furphies’.

Jointly honouring the author of Such is Life, and ‘the furphy’ that was born from water cart tales, the Furphy Literary Award promotes and extends the tradition of storytelling that is embedded in Australian life. 

For more information, please visit: https://www.furphystory.com.au/furphy-literary-award/open-short-story-competition/