Canberra Glassworks announces winners of 2024 residencies

Three ACT artists are among 16 awarded residencies this year at Canberra Glassworks.

Hannah Gason and Elliot Bastianon will develop new work that will represent Canberra at Melbourne Design Fair 2025.

Peter Nilsson, a master of cold glass, has been awarded a mentorship to explore new processes in hot glass with glass blower Annette Blair.

Other recipients include:

  • Holly Grace (VIC), who will collaborate with master instrument maker, Kevin Bradley to explore the use of glass as a canvas for video projection and an acoustic device.
  • Kathy Elliott (NSW), who is recognised internationally for her collaborative glasswork with partner Ben Edols, will explore new carving applications on blown glass forms.
  • Ceramicists Lynda Draper (NSW), and Janet Fieldhouse (QLD) from the Torres Strait, who will translate their practices in glass for the first time.
  • Elliat Rich (NT), who will embark on a slow format residency of six months to experiment and develop samples and trials in glass. This will contribute to the creation of a series of new, innovative works to be showcased in Canberra, Melbourne, Darwin, and Queensland Gallery of Modern Art.
  • NSW artists Guy Frederick, Thom Roberts, Skye Saxon, and Katrina Brennan (NSW) from Studio A, who will receive the Glassworks Access & Equity Residency. They plan to highlight their impact on communities and the environment.
  • Kate Shierlaw (SA), University of South Australia, and Carman Skeehan (SA), JamFactory Associate program, who are among the winners of a New Graduate Residency
  • Spence Messih (NSW), who will collaboration with a writer to create a new work for the Canberra Art Biennale as the Writer in Residence.
  • Art Group Creative Fellow, Josie Gluck, USA, who will encourage and support the next generation of glass makers.