Canberra Sinfonia – Rain of Diamonds and Appalachian Spring

Conducted by Leonard Weiss
Wesley Uniting Church, Forrest
Saturday 13 March 2021 at 3pm

The deliciously titled Rain of Diamonds by Chloe Sinclair opens the Canberra Sinfonia 2021 season. The work was commissioned by the Sinfonia and is followed by Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring.

Barbie talks to Canberra composer, Chloe Sinclair

Chloe Sinclair’s work is inspired by her reading of a scientific journal article in which the diamond-like rain that occurs on some planets was described. The piece became a meditation on stillness and preciousness and hence a reflection on the importance of water to our planet – a climate change statement as it were.

Appalachian Spring received the 1945 Pulitzer Prize for Music; the work was commissioned by choreographer and dancer Martha Graham and premiered on 30 October 1944 in Washington DC with Graham dancing the lead role.

The Sinfonia audience will hear the complete ballet score for 13 instruments, one of the most well-known masterpieces of 20th Century chamber repertoire. It is often unheard in concert performances due to Copland’s popular (and 10 minutes shorter) Appalachian Spring Suite taking its place.

About composer Chloe Sinclair

Chloe is a Canberran composer currently studying her Master of Music (Composition) at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music under Paul Stanhope.

She is one of Australia’s most notable emerging composers, with recent commissions including those from the Canberra Symphony Orchestra, Gondwana National Choral School, The Australian Voice Collective; and closer to home, Woden Valley Youth Choir, the Canberra Youth Orchestra and National Capital Orchestra.

Chloe is composer in residence at Trinity Grammar School and a recent participant in the Flinders Quartet composer development program.

More information