National Capital Orchestra – Mozart Clarinet

The Q Queanbeyan
Sunday 13 October 2019 at 3pm

Guest conductor Alan Cook
Pre-concert talk at 2.15

Orchestral Equations by Melbourne-based composer May Lyon opens the concert. Her music explores themes from deep human emotions, history and mythology, through to mathematical concepts. 

Richard speaks with conductor Alan Cook

Acclaimed soloist Eloise Fisher will play Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto in A Major K622, a staple of the clarinet repertoire and a wonderful example of the composer’s genius.

After the interval the energetic Polovtsian Dances from the opera Prince Igor by Alexander Borodin are followed by the Antar Symphony by Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov, a work with a mystical story from the composer of Scheherezade.

Guest conductor Alan Cook is also an opera coach and musicologist with many years of experience across a wide range of operatic and symphonic repertoire

Australian-Israeli clarinettist Eloise Fisher is the winner of prizes from numerous prestigious competitions, including the Beijing International Music Competition, the Australian Music Foundation in London, and the International Competition of UFAM in Paris. 

Tickets are available at and