National Capital Orchestra – Rach and Rumsey

The Q, Queanbeyan
Sunday 16 June at 3pm
Pre-concert talk 2.15pm

The National Capital Orchestra, conducted by Leonard Weiss, continues its tradition of combining exciting new Australian works with traditional favourites of the orchestral repertoire.  This concert features the world premiere of Michael Dooley’s Piano Concerto no. 1 performed by acclaimed pianist Andrew Rumsey.

Lenny Weiss talks about Rach and Rumsey

Andrew Rumsey will be performing the work on a magnificent, completely hand-crafted 9 ft concert grand piano, provided with the generous assistance of Kawai Australia.

Following this exciting world premiere is Rachmaninov’s romantic Symphony No. 2. One of the most popular late romantic symphonies, this music expresses both an intensely passionate character and the  light-heartedness of ballet – a piece that is often acclaimed as one of the greatest symphonies composed last century.


  • Adult: $45
  • Seniors: $40
  • Concession: $30
  • Child U16 years, full time students, $20,

For further information: